Montenegro, Albania, Norway and Ukraine joined the EU Council decision on the extension of economic sanctions against Russia until the end of 2018

Norway, Albania and Montenegro joined the EU sanctions against Russia

It is stated in the statement of the head of the EU diplomacy Federica Mogherini posted on the website of the EU Council, reports Biznestsentr.

"The candidate countries Montenegro and Albania, member of the European free trade Association Norway, as well as Ukraine joined the statement. They will ensure that national policy decision of the EU Council," – said in the message.

"The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it," otmechaetsya in a statement.

Read also: the Russian Authorities recognized the impact of US sanctions on the ruble

As reported, on 5 July, the Council of the European Union announced the extension of economic sanctions against Russia for six months.

The decision was taken following the report of the President of Macron and Chancellor Merkel at the European Council 28-29 June on the implementation of the Minsk agreements, which are linked to sanctions.

The Council decided to extend sanctions by written procedure unanimously.

The sanctions target the financial, energy and defense sectors, as well as in the sphere of dual-use goods. They were originally introduced 31 July 2014 for one year in response to Russia's actions destabilising the situation in Ukraine.

Economic sanctions, prolonged this decision include: the restriction of access to primary and secondary capital markets of the EU 5 main state-owned companies and their subsidiaries established outside the EU, as well as three major Russian defense and three energy companies; a ban on the export and import of arms; a ban on the export of dual-use goods for military use or military end user in Russia.

In addition, the sanctions include limiting Russia's access to certain sensitive technologies and services that can be used for exploration and production of oil.

In the EU Council recalled that in addition to these economic sanctions in response to aggression against Ukraine the European Union imposed against individual 155 men and 38 subjects (15 September 2018), sanctions in response to the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol (until 23 June 2019).

Subscribe to Biznestsentr in Facebook, Twitter and Telegram

See comments →